30 days of yoga, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Day 3: Dragon slaying

Yoga Fundamentals with Vanessa @ 7:30pm – 8:30pm @ Urban Yoga – Business Bay

Followed by…

Candlelit Yin Yoga with Vanessa @ 8:30pm – 9:30pm @ Urban Yoga – Business Bay


Journal entry

On Day 3, Life gets in the way. An last minute trip to the bank for statements, followed by an appointment I need to go to, means I skip the first session, and decide to go straight to the second.

As I climb into the drivers seat via the passenger door, hotly cursing the inconsiderate a$%^&*# who has given me less than 2 inches to open my door, I murmur to myself, “Yoga off the mat. Yoga off the mat.” This concept is one of my favourite takeaways from yoga, that the practice does not end when you leave the mat, but is something that you carry with you throughout your day. I sit back in the chair, blast the AC and with my eyes closed, breathe in, breathe out. Someone honks at me, desperate for my A+ parking spot, and I resist the urge to spin around and give them a gesture they’ll surely understand. Instead I continue to breathe in, breathe out, eyes closed, and when I open them I realise how I have forgotten the most important things about my inconvenient mall errand: the cold cup of Pinkberry, happiness embodied awaits me.

I arrive early for my class, which happens to be the first time the class is going to start a few minutes late, as Vanessa transitions from the 7:30 flow, to the 8:30 yin. I flip through a magazine, sip on a cup of tea, and give myself a pat on the back for keeping my blood pressure low in that parking lot. Good job me. Sometimes it’s important to remind yourself that you’re doing okay.

I am new to Vanessa’s class, but not new to yin, a practice I enjoy so much that I almost feel like it’s cheating to count it in. But a surprise awaits me.

After some breathing exercises and a Child’s pose that reminds me of my body’s aches and pains, we move into what I have named: My Worst Nightmare.

The preferred yogi name: Dragon’s pose.

If you ask me what other poses we practiced, I wouldn’t be able to tell you, because this one overwhelmed me so much. Had you shown me a picture of someone doing the pose, “easy peasy!” I would have said, but the human body is a mysterious thing, and mine it seems absolutely hates every second of being in that pose. I sweat, I stifle a cry and count the seconds to transition into the next. While there is no specific pain per se, it is soreness that seems to emanate from every nook and cranny of my protesting body.

It’s like the universe wants to laugh at me for thinking yin would be “easier”. Joke is definitely on me.

Today I am conscious that my breathing has become connected to daily mantras, one driving the others, forcing my mind into meditation. In a bid to remember my instructor’s words, I repeat them in my head, over and over, and in that repetition I find my mantra for the day.

I call this Mantras in Motion.


 1

Move in a way that serves you

2

Shift your focus from doing to being

3

Nothing else to do; nowhere else to be


Other thoughts:

A by-product of yoga is the subconscious effort to take better care of yourself. Consider the quality of what you sleep, eat, drink, and THINK.

 

Leave a Reply

