30 days of yoga, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Day 2: Redefining failure

Urban Flow with Sara @ 8:00am – 9:00am @ HAPI


Journal entry

Yup. I slept right through the alarm. I opened my eyes at 8:40, and after checking the time, a message from Ashley reminds me of where I should have been. I curse. A lot. I send messages of apology to Ashley, messages of anger and disappointment to myself.

It’s only day 2 and already I am failing.

At that point, I remember the words of Elizabeth Gilbert:

“You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.”

As I select my clothes, these are the thoughts I decide to select along with them…


1

Redefining Failure

A missed morning class is an opportunity to embrace an evening class. I serendipitously find another that evening*, in the same studio*, and with the same instructor*. I accept it as my second chance and shrug off the failure label.

2

Forgiving myself

As I brush my teeth, still wondering how and why the alarm clock gods failed me, Lara’s words from the night before come to mind:

First time this hits me: you are so hard on yourself.

She’s right, and I try to think why this is. It’s so easy to be mad at myself. I decide to forgive myself for the alarm, and then even try forgiving the alarm clock itself.

3

Listening to my body

“Find your joy,” Ashely’s message says.

“My joy is to  practice with you!” I respond, defeated.

Cheekily, I remember the words of every yoga instructor I’ve ever had, and decide to chalk this up to ‘listening to my body’. I guess it wanted a lie-in today.


Walking to work, I feel infinitely better than I did when I woke up half an hour earlier, and vow to carry this newfound spirit with me throughout my day, looking forward to my evening class, and choosing to ignore the anxiety of the undesired email.

As I put one foot in front of the other, a new mantra makes its way in…

Select your thoughts.

Select your thoughts.

Select your thoughts. 


*Journal entry – update

Urban Flow with Sara @ 6:00pm – 7:00pm @ Urban Yoga – Business Bay

…because I thought it was at HAPI. Oops.

Sara is a trooper and teaching a third class today at 7:30pm. I will absolutely make it.

I owe her an apology, and my practice.


 

Leave a Reply

